Contact Us: (800) 262-5131    |    Outage Map   |   Hurricane Tracker


OREMC Announces 2020 Youth Award Winners

May 14th, 2020

Okefenoke REMC is pleased to announce its 2020 OREMC Scholarship winners and the four local students selected as delegates for the annual Youth Tour Leadership Experience.

This is the 27th year OREMC has awarded scholarships to students residing in one of the eight counties it serves—Brantley, Camden, Charlton, Glynn, Ware and Wayne counties in Georgia, and Baker and Nassau counties in Florida. Ten scholarships of $2,000 each were awarded to students accepted to a college or technical school and based on their autobiographical sketch, academic achievement, extra-curricular and community service activities, letters of recommendation and financial need. Their awards bring OREMC’s total scholarships to $240,000

This year’s winners are: Seth Crawford from Baker County High School; Mady Kate Bullard, William Gibson and Elizabeth Howell Brantley County High School; Michelle Liu from Brunswick High School; Nathan Bryan and Drew Nash from Camden County High School; Grayson Carter from Charlton County High School; Cole Tilley, Hilliard Middle-Senior High School; and Travis “Ray” Lantrip Jr. from Wayne County High School.

Walter Harrison Scholarship - Scholarships - Tri-County EMCFrom the OREMC Scholarship winners, two students are selected as finalists for the Walter Harrison Scholarship, which is funded and awarded by the Georgia Electric Membership Corporation. Selected students must be accepted at and planning to attend a college or technical school in Georgia. OREMC selected Elizabeth Howell and Drew Nash as finalists and congratulates Drew Nash as a 2020 Walter Harrison Scholarship winner.

Four Delegates Selected for Youth Tour Leadership Experience

OREMC has selected four students as 2020 Youth Tour delegates. Typically they join delegates from Georgia’s 40 other electric membership cooperatives for an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C., in June for the Youth Tour Leadership Experience. However due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s Youth Tour was cancelled. In lieu of the trip each of the four students will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

OREMC’s Youth Tour delegates for 2020 are Faith Crews and Tessa Dixon, Brantley County High School; Bryce Morris, Brunswick High School; and Caroline Lokey, Glynn Academy.

OREMC Announces 2020 Youth Award Winners

‹ All News